About the IUA

IUA Board and Governance

A company limited by guarantee, the IUA is governed by a Board of up to 20: the Chief Executive and representatives, elected annually by rotation by full members. Those so elected tend to be Chairmen and/or Chief Executives of insurance and reinsurance companies or otherwise senior market figures.

IUA Board Members

    Malcolm Newman, IUA Chairman
Managing Director SCOR Paris-London Hub
SCOR UK Company Limited
  Dave Matcham, Chief Executive
International Underwriting Association
  Jake Algar
Head of Corporate Solutions
Swiss Re International SE (UK) Branch 
  Paul Bonny
President of International Operations
Transatlantic Reinsurance Company
  Sinead Browne
Chief Regions and Markets Officer
Allianz Global Corporate & Specialty UK 
  John Cadman
Group General Counsel and Chief Executive Officer
Lancashire Insurance Company (UK) Limited 
  Mark Chapman
Group CIO
Global Aerospace Underwriting Managers 
  Geoff Godwin
UK Chief Operating Officer
AIG Property Casualty
  Mark Gregory
Chief Executive Officer, International Division
Axis Specialty 
  Dirk Herrenpoth
Managing Director, Munich Re UK General Branch
Great Lakes Insurance SE
  Philip Hobbs
Chief Underwriting Officer
Liberty Global Group 
  Geoff Jones
Director - Specialty & Wholesale, Global Risk Solutions
Royal and Sun Alliance Insurance Group plc 
  Rob Kuchinski
Chief Executive
Zurich Global Corporate UK
  Nick Parr
Managing Director
HDI Global Specialty SE
  William Stovin
President and Chief Operating Officer
Markel International Insurance Company Limited
  Hugh Sturgess
Chief Executive Officer
Arch Insurance Europe  
  Patrick Tiernan
UKGI Chief Financial Officer 
Aviva Plc 
  Robert Wilson
Business Manager
Chubb Global Markets


IUA members

Employees of IUA member companies can sign in or register for access to an extensive range of research and market intelligence.


Read the latest news statement by the International Underwriting Association

Finding member companies

There are three categories of IUA membership which are outlined below. Full lists of IUA member companies may be viewed by clicking on the links below.